MOBILE »         
Simplified Scientific Christianity         

Bible Self-Study Supplement

The Tabernacle at Shiloh

   Shiloh, the place of rest, is a center of attraction. In the body of man it is the heart, the place of peace when love has become his motive power. The Tabernacle which was set up at Shiloh is, therefore, representative of the divine sanctuary which man must establish in the inmost center of his own being. It stands for the initiatory ideal given to "the whole congregation," the twelve tribes.

   The Levites ministered in this Tabernacle because they had made themselves serviceable as transmitters of powers poured out by all the twelve signs of the Zodiac. They had attained to universal consciousness that put them in tune with the entire zodiacal wheel of life, so they became ministers of all the twelve Mansions of Light. They had "no part" of the land assignment, their inheritance being the priesthood. They were not limited in their expression to the powers of just one sign, but conveyed to their people Rays from them all.

   The Levites did, however, receive cities, forty-eight in number. These were "within the possession of the children of Israel" (Joshua 21:41). The inheritance points to the universal consciousness (cities) of twelve (4+8). It is an awareness that transcends the three-dimensional form world, enters into higher dimensions of spirit, and draws from thence sustenance wherewith to feed the spiritual needs of others. It was under the powers of twelve that "There failed not aught of any good thing which the Lord had spoken unto the house of Israel, all came to pass" (Joshua 21:45).

   Simeon and Levi correlate to the lower and higher aspects. respectively, of the dual mental sign of Gemini. Gemini is the home of Mercury, lord of wisdom and messenger of the gods. He is a traveler of the skies, and his winged heels carry him wherever the light of wisdom is needed. His children are such as the Levites, their inheritance being scattered among all other portions.

   The inheritance of Simeon, the unillumined concrete mind, lies within the borders of Judah, the heart's portion. By possession of the heart's love principle, one enters into its inheritance. Love is the supreme redemptive power of the world; regeneration effected through its power to transmute is the high light of biblical history. Simeon's portion was a part of Judah's because "the inheritance of the children of Judah was too much for them" (Joshua 19:9).

   Zebulun (Pisces) received twelve cities with their attached villages. One of these was Bethlehem, the foremost spiritual center of the Earth. Pisces is the last and twelfth sign of the Zodiac. It completes the cycle of experience that leads to Initiation, the highest teaching pertaining to the Piscean phase of the Christian religion. It marks the last of the twelve steps toward that perfection which is mystically described as "being born in Bethlehem."

   The fifth lot, which fell to Asher, "turneth toward the sunrising ... and reacheth to Zebulun." Asher (Libra) represents the place of light that eventually leads to Initiation (Zebulun, Pisces). Among the cities apportioned to Asher are Ramah (a sanctuary, the truth within) and Hebron, the center of unity, harmony and fellowship — all keywords belonging to Asher (Libra).

   "The sixth lot came out to the children of Naphtali." The inheritance of Naphtali (Capricorn) reached from Zebulun on the south, to Asher on the west, and to Judah on the east. In an aspirant there is no longer any hesitancy as to choice. The Christ within has been awakened, and the powers of Capricorn are in full manifestation. Mind and heart are united in the refulgent light of the east. The sacred waters of Jordan within his regenerate body ascend toward the light of the sunrising.

   "The children of Dan went up to fight . . ." The tribe of Dan performs the work of Scorpio, the regenerator. Feeling repressed within their limited borders, they launched out on the path of conquest, taking Leshem, which means a fortress. Their battle was for enlarged possessions that come with subjugation of the sense life, and increased liberties enjoyed when spirit is in the ascendancy.

   Joshua's attainment is also indicated in his inheritance. He received Timnath-serah, the portion of the remainder, on Mount Ephraim, a fruitful height. Both Joshua and Ephraim are related to Virgo, Lords of Wisdom. Each year as the Sun passes from Leo into Virgo, the Love Ray of the Lords of Flame (Leo) is merged with the Wisdom Ray of Virgo. The miracle of this blending brings the ripening fruits and grain in nature, while in man it produces an exaltation of consciousness such as is described in the Ascension of Mary, the Divine Virgin, under the guidance of Christ, the Lord of Love.

 — Corinne Heline

Click on the diagrams below for more information:

Contemporary Mystic Christianity

This website is offered to the public by students of The Rosicrucian Teachings, and has no official affiliation with any organization.

|  Mobile Version  |